Travelling to New Zealand? Read all updated requirements before you book.
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers

Removed from saved list

8.2

Excellent

1,407 reviews

1,407 reviews

Housekeeping11
Breakfast10
Shops1
See map

9

Exceptional

Location rating score

Exceptional location
Exceptional for walking
Parking
Available
Walkable places
Dunedin City Library

90 m

Metro Cinema

110 m

Bivouac

110 m

Wild South

150 m

The Scottish Shop

160 m

Popular landmarks
Speight's Brewery

570 m

Olveston Historic Home

630 m

Knox Church

630 m

Otago Museum

920 m

Baldwin Street

3.5 km

Closest landmarks
Filleul Street Car Park

40 m

Post office

60 m

Dunedin i-SITE

170 m

Wall Street Mall

210 m

Records Records

220 m

On Top Backpackers

12 Filleul Street, City Center, Dunedin, New Zealand, 9016 - See map

Get your trip off to a great start with a stay at this property, which offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Conveniently situated in the City Center part of Dunedin, this property puts you close to attractions and interesting dining options. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous Otago Peninsula. This 3-star property is packed with in-house facilities to improve the quality and joy of your stay.

Show more

Highlights

570 meters to public transportation

Airport transport

Excellent breakfast

240 meters to The Octagon

Complimentary WIFi in all rooms

Hygiene Plus
This property has self-selected and self-certified the following hygiene measures.Learn more
Safety Features
Staff trained in safety protocol
See all amenities
Preventative Equipment
Hand sanitizer
Free face masks
Health and Medical
First aid kit

Facilities

Car park

Complimentary WIFi in all rooms

BBQ facilities

Luggage storage

Golf course [on-site]

Game room

Car power charging station

Breakfast [free]

Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Dunedin in the last 24 hoursCompared to 148 Dunedin properties at Agoda for various dates
Value for money8.3
Location rating9.0
Nearest airportDunedin International Airport (DUD)
Distance to airport24.0 km

Rooms available at On Top Backpackers

Deluxe
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Single Room
...
  • Room size: 8 m²/86 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 double bed and 1 single b...
Enter dates to see prices
Dormitory -- Female Only
...
  • Room size: 8 m²/86 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 8 m²/86 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 1 m²/11 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Double or Twin Room
...
  • Room size: 1 m²/11 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
Enter dates to see prices
Mixed Dormitory
...
  • Room size: 8 m²/86 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Double Twin Room
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 double bed and 1 single b...
Enter dates to see prices
Penthouse Apartment
...
  • Room size: 90 m²/969 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 double bed & 2 sofa beds ...
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory
...
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to stay at On Top Backpackers?

Room rates depend on the dates, room types, and number of guests, so please click here to see the latest and best deals from Agoda!

What time is check-in and check-out at On Top Backpackers?

Check-in is from 01:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out.

How do I get to On Top Backpackers?

For those who wish to drive their own cars, On Top Backpackers has a car park on site, as well as additional parking nearby if the first car park is full. Parking is available for a fee of 18 NZD per day. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Dunedin with private transportation, the hostel can arrange taxi service.

Is breakfast offered at On Top Backpackers?

Wake up to a great continental breakfast at On Top Backpackers.

What is the smoking policy at On Top Backpackers?

On Top Backpackers does permit smoking in some areas and is not 100% smoke-free.

What is the closest train, metro, or bus station to On Top Backpackers?

Dunedin Railway Station is the closest train, metro, or bus station, about 580 m away from On Top Backpackers.

What restaurants are nearby On Top Backpackers?

On Top Backpackers is located in City Center, famous for good restaurants such as SIla Turkish Restaurant and Takeaway, Angus Resaturant & Bar and Great Taste Buffet Restaurant.

What popular shopping places are close to On Top Backpackers?

Located in the City Center area, On Top Backpackers is close to great shopping choices like Otago Farmers Market, The Scottish Shop and Granny Annies Sweet Shop.

What are popular attractions near On Top Backpackers?

Guests at On Top Backpackers can easily visit First Church of Otago, Dunedin Chinese Garden and The Octagon located in the City Center area.

What popular natural sightseeing spots are close to On Top Backpackers?

On Top Backpackers is located in the City Center area, which is famous for natural sightseeing destinations such as Dive Otago and Dunedin Freedom Camping.

Show more questions
See map

Explore the neighborhood

What people love about On Top Backpackers

  • 10

    Exceptional
    Cleanliness

    "It was very clean, warm and close to lots of restaurant's and shops."

    Tulani

    |

    November 24, 2021

  • 10

    Exceptional
    Breakfast

    "Nice staff great location nice breakfast free pool if staying nice bar good drink prices"

    Ella

    |

    July 31, 2021

  • 10

    Exceptional
    Breakfast

    "Great staff nice breakfast get to play pool for free if staying ."

    Ella

    |

    July 31, 2021

Property ranking|Compared to 148 Dunedin properties
See all rankings
Cheapest price score
Location score
9/10
Value for money score
8.3/10
Room comfort score
7.4/10
Better than
99
%
of Dunedin properties
Better than
86
%
of Dunedin properties
Better than
80
%
of Dunedin properties
Better than
80
%
of Dunedin properties
Overall rating:

8.2

Excellent
1,407 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Facilities
7.8
Location
9.0
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
Free breakfast and Pool 🎱 tables were a bonus :)
Cassandra from Australia
Solo traveler
More about On Top Backpackers

More about On Top Backpackers

On Top Backpackers

Make everyday special with all that Dunedin has to offer with a stay at On Top Backpackers.
At On Top Backpackers, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. Free internet access provided within the hostel keeps you connected throughout your stay. Exploring Dunedin is made even more convenient with the taxi services available at the hostel. For those driving their own car, parking is available for guests.
Always get the assistance you need with front desk services including luggage storage and safety deposit boxes. Booking the best tickets and getting the hottest restaurant reservations are made easy with help from the hostel's ticket service and tours. For longer stays or whenever you need it, the laundry service keeps your favorite travel outfits clean and available. Feel like doing nothing? Available services like daily housekeeping let you get the most out of your time at On Top Backpackers.
For guests who would like to smoke, the designated smoking areas are available.
All rooms at On Top Backpackers are designed and decorated to make guests feel right at home. Some rooms at On Top Backpackers are available with design features like a balcony or terrace. For a bit of entertainment, guests will find television available in some selected rooms. Don't worry about being thirsty as a coffee or tea maker is provided in some guestrooms.


Dining and things to do

Every day at On Top Backpackers begins with a delicious complimentary breakfast. Don't start your vacation days without your morning coffee, available every morning in the café. A great night out couldn't be easier! Enjoy a fun evening without traveling outside at the bar. Are you a great cook? Make your own meals in-house at the hostel's BBQ facilities and shared kitchen.
Enjoy the countless activities offered at On Top Backpackers. Challenge your travel group members or other guests to competitive fun, with the hostel's golf course on site. Family time on relaxed evenings is easy with the hostel's shared lounge and TV area.


Around the property

Don't miss out on all that Dunedin has to offer! A great museum trip can be had at Otago Museum located 910 m away, with local art that provides a sense of the region. Be sure to visit Larnach Castle & Gardens located 9.7 km away, an item on every checklist of those who travel to Dunedin.


Reasons to stay here

Find rooms here that are cheaper than 99% of all other options in the city.
Guests who stayed at this hostel have scored it higher than 86% of accommodations in the city.

Show more
Amenities and facilities
Very good
Facilities

7.8

Most talked about facilities

Breakfast

8 mentions

Housekeeping

7 mentions

Internet

3 mentions

Car Park

2 mentions

Languages spoken

  • English

Internet access

  • Complimentary WIFi in all rooms
  • Internet services
  • Wi-Fi in public areas

Things to do, ways to relax

  • Billiards
  • Game room
  • Golf course [on-site]
  • Ticket services
  • Tours

Cleanliness and safety

  • Anti-viral cleaning products
  • Cashless payment service
  • Daily disinfection in all rooms
  • Daily disinfection in common areas
  • Face coverings on staff
  • First aid kit
  • Free face masks
  • Guest rooms seal after sanitization
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Hot water linen and laundry washing
  • Physical distancing of at least 1 meter
  • Room sanitization opt-out available
  • Rooms sanitized between stays
  • Sanitized kitchen and tableware items
  • Staff trained in safety protocol

Dining, drinking, and snacking

  • Bar
  • BBQ facilities
  • Breakfast [free]
  • Coffee shop
  • Kitchen
  • Shared kitchen

Services and conveniences

  • Contactless check-in/out
  • Daily cleaning
  • Elevator
  • Heating in public area
  • Ironing service
  • Laundry service
  • Luggage storage
  • Postal service
  • Safety deposit boxes
  • Smoking area
  • Terrace

Land sports

  • Golf course (within 3 km)

Access

  • Adult-only property
  • CCTV in common areas
  • Fire extinguisher
  • Non-smoking rooms
  • Pets allowed
  • Security [24-hour]
  • Smoke alarms
  • Soundproof rooms

Getting around

  • Bicycle parking
  • Car park [nearby]
  • Car park [on-site]
  • Car power charging station
  • Parking [paid]
  • Taxi service

Available in all rooms

  • Coffee/tea machine
  • Complimentary drinking water
  • Desk
  • Fan
  • Heating
  • Non-smoking
  • Seating area
  • Shower
  • Wi-Fi
Food and dining
Breakfast options
  • Continental
Location
12 Filleul Street, City Center, Dunedin, New Zealand, 9016
Excellent
Location

9

Airports

  • Dunedin International Airport (DUD)
    24.0 km
  • Wanaka Airport (WKA)
    161.3 km

Public transportation

  • Dunedin Railway Station
    590 m
  • Dunedin Railways
    590 m

Hospital or clinic

  • Childrens Pavilion
    490 m

Shopping

  • Otago Farmers Market
    1.2 km

Convenience store

  • City Mini Mart
    120 m

Cash withdrawal

  • ATM
    120 m
What's nearby

Popular landmarks

  • Speight's Brewery
    570 m
  • Olveston Historic Home
    630 m
  • Knox Church
    630 m
  • Otago Museum
    920 m
  • Baldwin Street
    3.5 km
  • Tunnel Beach
    6.3 km
  • Larnach Castle & Gardens
    9.7 km
  • The Royal Albatross Centre
    20.4 km
  • Otago Peninsula
    20.5 km

Nearby landmarks

  • Filleul Street Car Park
    40 m
  • Post office
    60 m
  • Dunedin City Library
    90 m
  • Metro Cinema
    110 m
  • Bivouac
    110 m
  • Wild South
    150 m
  • The Scottish Shop
    160 m
  • Granny Annies Sweet Shop
    160 m
  • Bath Street
    160 m
  • Dunedin i-SITE
    170 m
Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Property policies
Children and extra beds

Extra beds vary by room. Please check each room's capacity for details.

Minimum age of guests is: 12 year(s).

Children 12-17 year(s)
Must use an extra bed
If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
Guests 18 years and older are considered as adults
Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
Others
  • The minimum age required to stay at this property is 18 years.
  • When booking 6 or more rooms, special policies may apply.
Some helpful facts

Check-in/Check-out

  • Check-in from13:00
  • Check-in until22:00
  • Check-out from07:30
  • Check-out until10:00
  • Reception open until22:00

Getting around

  • Airport transfer fee20 NZD
  • Travel time to airport (minutes)30

The property

  • Number of bars/lounges1
  • Number of floors1
  • Number of restaurants0
  • Number of rooms 23
  • Most recent renovation2016

Parking

  • Daily parking fee18 NZD
Property announcements

With the new Traffic Light system in place, the property require that guest has a valid vaccination pass. This will be scanned on arrival. In case it is not valid , it will be turned away with no refund. If there is an exemption for the vaccination, guest must show relevant documentation on arrival.

Reviews of On Top Backpackers from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
8.2
/
10
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.8
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service8.2
Value for money8.3
High score for Dunedin
Rating
9+ Exceptional (40)
8-9 Excellent (21)
7-8 Very Good (31)
6-7 Good (18)
<6 Below Expectation (17)
Time of the year
Mar - May (30)
Jun - Aug (24)
Sep - Nov (22)
Dec - Feb (51)
All guests (265)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 127 verified guest comments
12345
9.2
Exceptional
FUMIN from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

the first choice of hostel in central of Dunedin”

this is my second time to visit Dunedin, and I choose to stay at On Top Backpackers again, reasonable price and includes continental breakfast.

Reviewed December 02, 2018

See room deals

8.0
Excellent
adriana from United States
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Nice place with a few extras”

Place is above a pool hall. Doesn't get too noisy. Dunedin is small so location is fine - just outside of city center - a 2 minute walk. Staff is good. Rooms are decent - stayed in 6 person dorm with decent room. Bathrooms for everyone are in main area but never too crazy busy. Kitchen is nice and big with outdoor seating area. Wifi off/on. Storage for luggage. Discount on beer down in pool hall. Cleaning 10am -2pm which is always a pain since you can't use bathroom and people in/out of your room. But overall, good place.

Reviewed February 19, 2017

See room deals

Thank you Adriana :) We really appreciate your positive feedback about the features we offer here at Ontop Backpackers. Cleaning is between the hours of 10am-1pm (after check outs until arrival check in) It is not always for the full three hours, it just depends on how dirty they are left by guests. Wonderful to hear you appreciated the central location in the heart of the city and our friendly staff who work hard to provide satisfactory service. All the best, Ontop Management

Responded July 11, 2018
On Top Backpackers
8.8
Excellent
Man from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Perfect home for backpacker”

Right in the middle of the city centre. Friendly staff. Toilet is clean. No need to wait for toilet or shower. Bunkbed is nice and tidy. Kitchen is spacious. All utensils provided. The lounge is comfortable. No Free WIFI. Highly recommend for backpacker or single traveler without a vehicle.

Reviewed April 08, 2018

See room deals

Thank you very much for your review. We have unlimited, fast-fiber WiFi of which you can access from everywhere in the hostel. It states this when you book and when you check in, but if you are unsure all you have to do is ask one of our friendly staff members at reception. We are ecstatic about all of the wonderful feedback you have given us about the cleanliness and facilities. All the best for your future travels. Kind regards, Ontop management

Responded July 10, 2018
On Top Backpackers
8.0
Excellent
Cassandra from Australia
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Great spot”

On top backpackers is in a super central location, just through the lane from the Octagon, walking distance to train and buses. Bunks are a little wobbly (!) but everything is clean and the facilities are otherwise good. Free breakfast and Pool 🎱 tables were a bonus :)

Reviewed February 05, 2019

See room deals

8.0
Excellent
Florence from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Single Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2019

Ok for a night ”

Quality price relation and the room were good but the backpackers is not convenient (no elevator when you have a heavy suitcase it’s a hurdle, no parking, you can’t benefit from common rooms after check’out Contrary to many other places, personnel could’nt give any recommendations on place to go ....) . I didn’t enjoy my stay because of this inconveniences.

Reviewed August 09, 2019

See room deals

7.2
Very good
Michael from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Single Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Very good”

Good Points: -Reasonable price -Decent location -Free basic breakfast -Clean Bad Points: -Window was up at very high level - like a prison cell. -Electricity supply to rooms was on a timer - you had to keep pressing a button every hour or so to reactivate it - terrible for charging devices. -Heating was via noisy bathroom type fan heater, also on a timer that turns it off after an hour. Would be terrible for Dunedin winters. -Toasters in kitchen were broken - you had to hold the lever down the whole time for bread to toast.

Reviewed April 03, 2017

See room deals

HI Michael, thank you for taking the time to review our wonderful hostel. Your positive feedback about location, cleanliness and affordability are appreciated as this is very important when providing accommodation for backpackers on a budget! We apologise you had an inconvenient time making your complimentary breakfast, you just needed to report the broken toaster to reception as staff were unaware of this being an issue as only guests use these appliances. We have spare toasters when incidents like this occur. The rooms have sockets and USB points. The sockets are on timers due to safety and energy saving purposes. The USB points however are 24/7 charge. Due to the design of the building, the windows have to be up high to gain natural sun light into each room. If they were placed lower, they would be looking into the room in front. It offers great privacy in the rooms and if you have trouble opening and closing them you just have to let our friendly staff know and we can assist.

Show more
On Top Backpackers
9.6
Exceptional
Alejandra from France
Group
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in January 2020

Nice place ”

Nice place to stay, the only weird thing is the window on the top of the room without a curtains ... ? But awesome place and can play billard in the bar !

Reviewed January 28, 2020

See room deals

8.0
Excellent
Tarek from United States
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Good backpacker stay”

The common room and free breakfast are as good as others in New Zealand. The rooms could have been a bit cleaner but were fine for the purpose.

Overall it's a good hostel in a nice part of Dunedin. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. Also going downstairs to the reception/bar did get a bit annoying. The common room/kitchen is the best part of the hostel. Very comfortable with plenty of space to cook, relax, and meet other travelers.

Reviewed July 28, 2014

See room deals

Thank you Tarek :) We give you a hostel information form at check in which has our contact number on it that you can call for any enquiries if you get tired of coming downstairs all the time! We put a lot of effort into the standard of cleanliness. If something is not satisfactory please let staff know as soon as possible so we can take note and adjust accordingly. Great to hear you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and our excellent location. Kind Regards,Ontop Management

Responded October 24, 2018
On Top Backpackers
8.0
Excellent
Silvana from Netherlands
Couple
Double Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Very good”

Good location, 1 min. walking to stores and restaurants. Good hostel, clean, enough bathrooms and showers, free breakfast (milk, cereal, bread, spreads). In the evening you might hear music from the poolhall downstairs. Overall good place to stay in Dunedin

Reviewed March 26, 2018

See room deals

Thank you Silvana for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your positive comments in regards to the location, cleanliness of facilities and the complimentary breakfast option we offer all guests daily. If there is ever any disruptive noise coming from the premises please do not hesitate to alert staff immediately and we will deal to it accordingly. All rooms are sound proof and this is usually not an issue as we have designed the Hostel with these factors considered however we will definitely take in this feedback and monitor closely. Kind Regards, Ontop Management

Responded July 10, 2018
On Top Backpackers
8.8
Excellent
Duong from Vietnam
Business traveler
Single Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

Happy with your service”

The staff is very friendly. The location is also good. I would recommend this backpackers to every one.

Reviewed December 17, 2016

See room deals

Thank you Duong for your kind review :) All the best for your future travels, Ontop Management

Responded July 25, 2017
On Top Backpackers
6.3
Good
Meng from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

poor”

location and quiet surroundings

spent 2 nights. as i booked only the first night through agoda, i extended for another night by paying cash at the receptionist. the girl informed me that the room which i was staying would be full for the next day and i had to check out as she would move me into another room. after packing and was ready to check out on the second day, a guy at the reception informed me that i did not have to check out. he even told me that the girl should have just move other patrons out of the room since some was only on a 1 night stay. my coach departing from dunedin was at 7.30am on the third day. i paid a deposit of $20 for the key, i asked another guy in charge of the reception what was the operating hours of the reception since i would be checking out earlier than their operating hours. he answered 24/7. needless to say, when i wanted to check out and get the $20 refund the next day at 7am, the door to the reception was locked and nobody was in. the bed would shake relentlessly at the slightest movement. tough time to sleep unless you are really really tired.

Reviewed August 19, 2013

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Shaoxuan
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Exceptional”

On Top is a lovely place to stay. Great location, great facilities and friendly staff.

Reviewed May 24, 2019

See room deals

9.0
Exceptional
Shannon from Australia
Solo traveler
Single Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Very basic but only stayed for 1 night”

Close to town centre and local attractions, free brekky in the morning and catered for what i needed

Fine, i was only there for 1 night but it was comfortable and was not too noisy as most backpacker hostels are.

Reviewed March 26, 2013

See room deals

9.2
Exceptional
KIE from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Good and just at the central”

Great place to stay at CBD and pub at ground floor can get special price for drink which is great deal.

Reviewed December 03, 2019

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Francesca from Australia
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Best hostel in NZ ”

This is by far the best hostel I've stayed in NZ. Good location, unlimited WiFi (in the room too!), usb charger for every bed, free bed. Plus the hostel itself is really nice, on a rooftop of a bar (rooms are not noisy because of that). Highly recommended!

Reviewed February 14, 2019

See room deals

8.0
Excellent
Erika from Philippines
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Recommended for short stay”

I was here for two nights. The room is comfy and clean. The kitchen is organized and it is just in the same room as the common area, thus you can cook while watching tv. They have a luggage storage area sonyou can leave your luggage after check out and just roam around the city.

Reviewed November 18, 2016

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Pui from New Zealand
Couple
Double Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2020

Very good place to stay”

Free pool and 1 dollar off drinks at bar on ground floor is neat. Check in at bar. Good security, key card to unlock second floor. Clean, spacious room. Plenty of bathrooms and toilets. Nice steady hot water with good pressure. Simple breakfast cereal and toast provided.

Reviewed March 11, 2020

See room deals

6.4
Good
Dan from China
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Hostel is fine, co-dwellers were awful ”

Pricing and location were great. That being said, the other people in the form came back at 3:30am, turned on the overhead light, left it on, did nothing to consider the other, SLEEPING, residents of the room. After a time, I had to turn the light off for them as they relaxed on their phones in bed. Later that morning, one of their phone alarms went off and they refused to wake and turn it off. So I took the opportunity to use the bathroom, and stepped in vomit upon entering. I left early that morning, eager to get out. The front desk didn't even ask me how my stay was, because I'm sure they already knew how it was. Like I said, the place is Great, but the low cost attracts the worst kind of travelers and the hostel males no excuse for them. If you are an inconsiderate douschebag, then this place is perfect for you. If you would like a place to get a good night's sleep on a budget, I suggest you find some place else.

Reviewed February 04, 2018

See room deals

Dan, interesting read. This comes across like a release of frustration instead of useful feedback. It is unfortunate you had such an unpleasant nights sleep however the recollection of your experience is mostly a reflection of other guests. Firstly, dorm rooms are shared spaces. This is the risk of which you take when booking. We have private rooms onsite. We cannot guarantee how respective and considerate the guests you are peered with are. We have management onsite 24/7. If you call the Hostel number given to you at check in or after hours contact number which is displayed in the kitchen and foyer entrance they will be able to assist with any disruptions on your behalf immediately. We are not mind-readers. We are sorry we did not ask, however you could of reported the vomit incident and communicated these issues while in front of us. Name calling is a very unfair generalization as it implies all of our guests are inconsiderate douchebags which cannot be further from the truth.

Show more
On Top Backpackers
10.0
Exceptional
Cheryl from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Great”

This was perfect for our needs. Extremely close to city centre and Moana Pool which was the purpose of our visit. Very helpful staff and lovely tidy clean room.

Reviewed June 08, 2018

See room deals

Thank you very much Cheryl :) We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in need of accommodation in Dunedin! Kind regards, Ontop Management

Responded July 10, 2018
On Top Backpackers
7.6
Very good
Mei from Hong Kong SAR, China
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Great location”

city centre location, free breakfast, satisfactory for backpackers

Reviewed March 28, 2017

See room deals

Thank you Mei for your kind review :) We hope you enjoyed your stay in Dunedin. Kind Regards, Ontop Management

Responded July 25, 2017
On Top Backpackers
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss