Travelling to Philippines? Read all updated requirements before you book.
Maxima Resort
Maxima Resort
Maxima Resort
Maxima Resort
Maxima Resort
Maxima Resort
Maxima Resort

Removed from saved list

5.3

Review score

19 reviews

19 reviews

See map

5.6

Review score

Location rating score

Parking
Available
Popular landmarks
SM Lanang Premier 3.6 km
Abreeza Mall 5.8 km
Roxas Avenue Night Market 6.7 km
People's Park 7.2 km
D' Bone Collector Museum 7.4 km
Museo Dabawenyo 7.6 km
Matina Town Square 8.7 km
Davao Crocodile Park 9.4 km
Japanese Tunnel 11.9 km
Philippine Eagle Center 25.1 km
Nearby landmarks
BlueJaz Water Park 90 m
Paradise Beach Resort Parking Entrance 350 m
Blue Water Pool 930 m
Chemas Beach Resort Parking Area 1.1 km
Pool 1.2 km
Shoreline 1.2 km
Waterfront Parking Area 1.5 km
Blue Waters Parking Area 1.5 km
Davao Museum of History and Ethnography 1.6 km
Puregold Lanang 1.6 km

Maxima Resort

Penaplata, Babak District - Samal Island, Davao City, Philippines - See map

Conveniently situated in the Babak District - Samal Island part of Davao City, this property puts you close to attractions and interesting dining options. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous Davao Crocodile Park. As an added bonus, restaurant is provided on-site to conveniently serve your needs.

Show more

Highlights

Private beach

Garden

Restaurants

Non-smoking

Tours

Facilities

Car park

Private beach

Restaurants

Tours

Water sports (motorized)

Water sports (non-motorized)

Garden

English

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Davao City every 10 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money4.8
Location rating5.6
Nearest airportFrancisco Bangoy International Airport (DVO)
Distance to airport3.5 km

Rooms available at Maxima Resort

House Above the Sea
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Cottage
...
  • Shared bathroom
Enter dates to see prices
Air Conditioning
...
    Enter dates to see prices

    Frequently asked questions

    What time is check-in and check-out at Maxima Resort?

    Check-in is from 09:00 AM, and check-out is until 08:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee.

    How do I get to Maxima Resort?

    For those who wish to drive their own cars, Maxima Resort has a car park available for guests.

    What are my dining options at Maxima Resort?

    Maxima Resort features an on-site restaurant for your dining convenience.

    What restaurants are nearby Maxima Resort?

    Maxima Resort’s neighborhood is Babak District - Samal Island which includes popular restaurants such as The Bahay Kubo Restaurant and Manolette BS.

    What are popular attractions near Maxima Resort?

    Maxima Resort is located in Babak District - Samal Island area, which is famous for attractions such as BlueJaz Water Park, Sergeant Barracks and Dona Remedios Resort.

    What popular natural sightseeing spots are close to Maxima Resort?

    Maxima Resort is located within Babak District - Samal Island, which makes it conveniently close to natural sights including Tree, Monfort Cave 1 and Cave 2.

    Show more questions
    See map

    Explore the neighborhood

    Overall rating:

    5.3

    Review score
    19 reviews
    Cleanliness
    5.3
    Facilities
    5.4
    Location
    5.6
    Read all reviews >
    More about Maxima Resort

    More about Maxima Resort

    Maxima Resort

    Maxima Resort is a smart choice for travelers to Davao City, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. Lose yourself amidst the natural charm of the sea with a stay at Maxima Resort.
    The facilities and services provided by Maxima Resort ensure a pleasant stay for guests. Parking is always available, provided by the resort for their driving guests. If you want seats to city's best entertainment, you can get help through the resort's tours.
    Experience high-quality room facilities during your stay at Maxima Resort. The resort provides air conditioning in some rooms for the benefit of guests. Keep your entertainment options wide, even in your room, with a range of facilities, including television available in select rooms.


    Dining and things to do

    Never let hunger affect your travel plans! Restaurants on-site provide convenient and tasty dining options.
    To fill your days, be sure to check out the fantastic facilities offered at Maxima Resort. The private beach at the resort is a very special feature, providing direct ocean access exclusively for guests. Hot days can be cool fun with water activities like non-motorized water sports and motorized water sports.


    Around the property

    There are many attractions to discover within close proximity to Maxima Resort. Engage in the city's best art at D' Bone Collector Museum located 7.3 km away, where you can learn about the local art scene and buy original works. Whatever you may be looking to buy on your trip to Davao City, chances are you'll find it at Abreeza Mall located 5.8 km away.


    Reasons to stay here

    Rooms here are cheaper than 84% of accommodations in the city.
    This resort's food and dining score higher than 83% of accommodations in the city.
    Room comfort is said to be outstanding here, scoring higher than 82% of accommodations in the city.

    Show more
    Amenities and facilities
    Review score
    Facilities

    5.4

    Most talked about facilities

    Beach

    2 mentions

    Food & Dining

    1 mention

    Languages spoken

    • English

    Internet access

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    Things to do, ways to relax

    • Garden
    • Private beach
    • Tours
    • Water sports (motorized)
    • Water sports (non-motorized)

    Dining, drinking, and snacking

    • Restaurants

    Services and conveniences

    • Elevator
    • Smoking area

    Access

    • Pets allowed

    Getting around

    • Car park [on-site]
    Location
    Penaplata, Babak District - Samal Island, Davao City, Philippines
    Review score
    Location

    5.6

    Airports

    • Francisco Bangoy International Airport (DVO)
      3.5 km
    • General Santos International Airport (GES)
      132.0 km

    Public transportation

    • Holiday Bus Station
      7.9 km

    Hospital or clinic

    • Sasa Main Health Center
      1.8 km

    Shopping

    • Abreeza Mall
      5.8 km

    Convenience store

    • 7 Eleven
      1.8 km

    Cash withdrawal

    • ATM
      1.5 km
    What's nearby

    Popular landmarks

    • SM Lanang Premier
      3.6 km
    • Abreeza Mall
      5.8 km
    • Roxas Avenue Night Market
      6.7 km
    • People's Park
      7.2 km
    • D' Bone Collector Museum
      7.4 km
    • Museo Dabawenyo
      7.6 km
    • Matina Town Square
      8.7 km
    • Davao Crocodile Park
      9.4 km
    • Japanese Tunnel
      11.9 km
    • Philippine Eagle Center
      25.1 km

    Nearby landmarks

    • BlueJaz Water Park
      90 m
    • Paradise Beach Resort Parking Entrance
      350 m
    • Blue Water Pool
      930 m
    • Chemas Beach Resort Parking Area
      1.1 km
    • Pool
      1.2 km
    • Shoreline
      1.2 km
    • Waterfront Parking Area
      1.5 km
    • Blue Waters Parking Area
      1.5 km
    • Davao Museum of History and Ethnography
      1.6 km
    • Puregold Lanang
      1.6 km
    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Property policies
    Children and extra beds

    All children are welcome.

    Infant 0-1 year(s)
    Stay for free if using existing bedding.
    Baby cot/crib may be requested directly from the property.
    Children 2-3 year(s)
    Stay for free if using existing bedding.
    Extra beds may be requested directly from the property; additional charges may apply
    Guests 4 years and older are considered as adults
    Extra beds may be requested directly from the property; additional charges may apply
    Others
    • When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply.

    Extra beds, if available, are dependent on the room you choose. Please ask the property for more details.

    Some helpful facts

    Check-in/Check-out

    • Check-in from09:00
    • Check-out until08:00
    • Reception open until00:00

    The property

    • Number of restaurants1
    • Number of rooms 9
    • Room voltage220
    • Year property opened2009

    Reviews of Maxima Resort from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    5.3
    /
    10
    Review score
    Cleanliness5.3
    Facilities5.4
    Location5.6
    Room comfort and quality5.3
    Service5.8
    Value for money4.8
    High score for Davao City
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (1)
    8-9 Excellent (0)
    7-8 Very Good (1)
    6-7 Good (4)
    <6 Below Expectation (13)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (3)
    Jun - Aug (3)
    Sep - Nov (8)
    Dec - Feb (5)
    All guests (19)
    All languages

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 19 verified guest comments
    5.3
    simon from United Kingdom
    Family with young children
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in July 2015

    2 night stay at Maxima”

    water sport, kids loved it,evening entertainment , good for snorkeling
    Reviewed July 29, 2015

    See room deals

    4.3
    Cris from Philippines
    Family with teens
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in June 2015

    Good for daytrip only”

    slide, waterblob and turtles

    Minimal choice of food in the menu. Staff always missing. Local channels on the television. Resort looks like an abandoned place. Good for daytrips and bring foods with you.

    Reviewed June 19, 2015

    See room deals

    2.0
    Saturnino from Philippines
    Business traveler
    Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in May 2015

    Very dirty.”

    Maxima Resort

    no restroom inside the cattages.

    Reviewed May 23, 2015

    See room deals

    3.3
    walter from Canada
    Family with young children
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

    too much climbing”

    banana boat was fun.swimming and snorkling ok.. view of Davao at night was nice.

    I found the place to be crowded and understaffed. Only the most fit of persons can manage the endless stairs going up and down from the parking area to the water. No comfort room in the room. And the main c.r. and shower areas not working. Very limited food in the restaurant. No sand beach and you walk on jagged rocks so no bare feet. I was booked for 2 nights but i departed after one night.. i Definitly will never go back to this place. Spend your time and money elsewhere.

    Reviewed April 14, 2015

    See room deals

    6.7
    Good
    Stephen from United States
    Couple
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in December 2013

    Needs work”

    Dining, resort amenities, staff friendliness

    Rooms needed to be cleaner.

    Reviewed January 11, 2015

    See room deals

    3.0
    JERMALYN from Philippines
    Business traveler
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in December 2014

    Unorganized”

    It was a disaster! We're very sorry but the stay was not worth for what we paid! Very unorganized! We arrived at 4:00PM, the room was dirty, we weren't able to sleep.. Ants partying the whole night everywhere, no water in washrooms :( , we couldn't find the only shower in the area. In short, there was no orientation. The following morning, when we spoke to the in charge we were shocked when he said we don't complain at the guard. Isn't it right even for water in the washroom you will ask an assistance when in fact it's understood that toilets have always water? Not worth to recommend at all! Very bad experience!

    Reviewed December 23, 2014

    See room deals

    3.7
    Lorenzo from United States
    Solo traveler
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in October 2013

    Roughing it..”

    If you want a hotel out of the way this is the place to be. If you require no luxuries or basis items this is the place to be. If you have a full time driver with car this is the place to be.

    The stay at Maxima Resort was maximum hotel camping. A nice place with nice people but out of the way. You need a car with a driver to stay there with you overnight and you must bring all the items you need cause there is nothing there except a room with a water room. There is also a disco at night but you must bring your own drinks. This is really roughing it and for the price it is too pricy for what you get and what you don't get. If you are prepared and bring all your essentials then you can have a unique experience. Bring everything you need cause there is nothing there.. and I mean nothing.. but the experience will make you appreciate nature and a real hotel.

    Reviewed November 22, 2013

    See room deals

    4.7
    Jennifer from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in November 2013

    Our stay is good except for the bad service.”

    Cottages are situated in an ocean front. Very relaxing view. I love the giant tarpaulin slide.

    Our vacation could have been great if the staffs were accommodating. Seriously the cashier/front desk named Arnel ruined it. He was so hard to deal with. He was so sarcastic and unhelpful. Though he upgraded our room from non AC to AC, he didn't make sure that other staffs in the kitchen/canteen know that our room includes breakfast. We wasted time in their canteen waiting if we will be served breakfast or not. The only staff who was very accommodating was Larry who helped us cooked our food and made sure that our needs were being taken cared off. This beach resort could be better if they will employ people who are competent enough to provide quality service to their guests. We do not have any problem with the cottage, location, and facilities only the STAFFS. Maxima Aqua Fun is a must visit place if you are planning to go to Davao just be very cautious because people working there aren't friendly at all.

    Reviewed November 13, 2013

    See room deals

    8.0
    Excellent
    Janis from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in October 2013

    A lot to do in Maxima”

    beach, food and activities at the resort

    It was a perfect stay for the family as we have a choice to a lot of wonderful water activities, giant slides, kayak, water blob that comes with the package. Food is superb. Room has extra foam in case you are a group of more than 4 without charge. It'll be better if you stay there for more than a night. The resort is close to the Hagimit Falls, one of the places to go to in Samal Island, Davao. We would love to come back to the resort and have the reserved energy to be able to do all water activities they offer besides those mentioned above.

    Reviewed November 11, 2013

    See room deals

    4.7
    Elven from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Cottage
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

    relaxing environment”

    affordable prices, fun watersports, quite

    I had a nice stay with my family in the resort. and a best place to relax and enjoy the ocean with its nice corals and colorfull fishes and other sea creatures to Snorkel and dive in. However i think their is so much more to improve in most areas of the resort such as their non air rooms facility well i dont expect much with the cheapest room but atleast they could clean the fan regularly as it is very dusty. And with the cleanliness the management have to do something with the cats at night as they keep coming speciall when we have food and are eating outside or in the balcony and their are lots of flies too at daytime. With the service all staff are friendly specially the scuba instructors. Another area is the public comfortrooms it is good if they could use toilet bowl with a flushing system even though it is a public comfortroom instead of using pails and waterscoops.

    Reviewed October 12, 2013

    See room deals

    7.0
    Very good
    William from Australia
    Family with teens
    House Above the Sea
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

    Just as it is pictured... but there is more”

    Large place, the sea, relaxing

    My wife and some of her family stayed at Maxima for a few days. All of them very much enjoyed the place and their stay but there are some things you should be aware of: - It is a single house by itself and not a resort. - to get to the house, you must walk down many VERY steep stairs and then walk along a long pier to get to the house. This was very difficult for my wife because of bad knees and for some of her family that were a bit out of shape. - if arriving at night, make sure you have a contact number for someone at the Maxima because my wife spent hours trying to find someone who would let them into the house. And most of the staff were not aware of their coming, which was very disappointing. - all of the water sports cost extra. And they are not cheap.

    Reviewed October 11, 2013

    See room deals

    10.0
    Exceptional
    Louis from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in March 2013

    Very excellent and fun.”

    Nice clean environment, relaxing, nice clean unpolluted beach

    Very excellent and relaxing environment. I will return to this place next year. Beach is very clean.

    Reviewed April 24, 2013

    See room deals

    6.0
    Josephine from Philippines
    Group
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in January 2013

    super fun slide ”

    aqua fun activities

    it's not my 1st time to stay in this hotel as i keep on returning to this resort as it gives a lot of fun in the water like giant slide, snorkling, floating in the beach,etc. staffs are friendly.

    Reviewed January 10, 2013

    See room deals

    6.0
    Josephine from Philippines
    Couple
    Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in November 2012

    nice location and fun slides”

    quiet and nice place

    during that time we were only 2 at the hotel, but the place was nice and quiet. highly recommended for those who want to enjoy the slides and do snorkling.

    Reviewed November 16, 2012

    See room deals

    7.0
    Very good
    Josephine from Philippines
    Group
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in January 2012

    nice hotel with aquafun”

    with a lot of activities to do like snorkling, banana ride, jetski,giant slide and diving

    an overnight stay at the hotel is affordable and a good experience with the giant slide. It was fun and all of my friends did enjoy at this resort.

    Reviewed February 01, 2012

    See room deals

    5.7
    Stefan from Canada
    Couple
    Cottage
    Stayed 3 nights in January 2012

    Lovely area for scuba diving”

    isolated, calm,

    I expected more from this resort. There is no beach. There was not many people, and going to Pina Plata or other cities is only possible in motorcycle. Be prepared to negociate because they abuse. You should pay 30pesos for Pina Plata. You can negociate any price they tell you. The site has potential, and I hope they will developp it. The savior of the place is Allan, a generous gentleman who is always there when you need him. The staff is very nice in general. But as a foreigner, I always felt looked at, as if they had never seen a white person before. The food available is limited and overpriced. In the city, we found some pastry and water at a much cheeper price. Only one room is worth the view, the airconditioned with no shower. Ah !!! There is no hot water anywhere contrarely to what they say. The scuba diving is wonderful and cheap.

    Reviewed January 09, 2012

    See room deals

    3.3
    Koji from Japan
    Family with teens
    Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in November 2012

    週末以外は行かないほうがよいホテル。”

    なし。

    ココはホテルではない。ただのリゾートです。 家族6人で2部屋を予約して、ホテルバウチャーを見せても話が伝わっていない。 散々待たせられた挙句、案内係のスタッフはひとりだけ。 部屋にトイレと電話も無い。(全室)子供の要望でレストランへ行ってみたが、メニューのほとんどが作れない。飲み物は缶ビールと缶ジュースのみ。 トイレやシャワーに行くのにも、階段の登り降りがきつい。 アクティビティーは週末のみ。全然楽しめません。

    Reviewed November 09, 2012

    See room deals

    3.3
    Koji from Japan
    Family with teens
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in November 2012

    週末以外は行かないほうがよいホテル。”

    なし。

    ココはホテルではない。ただのリゾートです。 家族6人で2部屋を予約して、ホテルバウチャーを見せても話が伝わっていない。 散々待たせられた挙句、案内係のスタッフはひとりだけ。 部屋にトイレと電話も無い。(全室)子供の要望でレストランへ行ってみたが、メニューのほとんどが作れない。飲み物は缶ビールと缶ジュースのみ。 トイレやシャワーに行くのにも、階段の登り降りがきつい。 アクティビティーは週末のみ。全然楽しめません。

    Reviewed November 09, 2012

    See room deals

    6.7
    Good
    SUNAE from South Korea
    Solo traveler
    Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in July 2012

    방은 별로였지만 재미있었던 리조트”

    밤에 가로등 근처로 물고기들이 몰려와서..쉽게 물고기를 볼 수 있었던 점...

    리조트에 입장하기 위해 배를 기다리는것은 어려웠지만 그럴만한 가치가 있었던 곳이라고 생각합니다.... 바로 방밖으로 나오면 쉽게 수영할 수 있고... 물이 너무 차지도 않아 좋았습니다... 또한 밤에는 라이트로 장식해 놓았는데 너무 이뻤고 가로등 주변으로 물고기들이 몰려드는걸 쉽게 볼수 있어서 좋았습니다... 특히 사말섬 답지 않게 음식값이 저렴해서 부담없이 맛있게 먹다 왔습니다... 그리고 직원들도 필리피노만의 유쾌함이 돋보이는 곳이었습니다^^ 특히 슬라이드 완전 재미있습니다^^ 다만 한국분들이 숙박하기에는 어렵다고 생각합니다.... 저희야 필리핀 로컬에서 살았던 경험들이 있어 웃으며 넘길 수 있었지만... 선풍기만 있는 방을 선택시 주무시기 어려울 듯 합니다.. 덥기도 하구요.... 방이 너무 조그만하고 더럽습니다... 흡사 우리나라 찢어진 장판 위에 침대만 덜렁 있거든요.. 그리고 개미도 많구요... 혹시 청결에 별 관심이 없으시면 즐겁게 지낼 수 있습니다... 그리고 또 아쉬웠던 점이 방이 방갈로 스타일이라 방안에 화장실과 샤워실이 구비되지 않아 밖에서 이용해야 했습니다^^

    Reviewed July 18, 2012

    See room deals

    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss