Travelling to South Africa? Read all updated requirements before you book.
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel

Removed from saved list

8.3

Excellent

14,326 reviews

14,326 reviews

Breakfast96
View71
Housekeeping59
See map

9.1

Exceptional

Location rating score

Exceptional location - Inside city center
Parking
Available
Popular landmarks
Suncoast Casino 590 m
Big Rush Urban Adrenaline 1.3 km
Moses Mabhida Stadium 1.6 km
Mitchell Park Zoo 3.0 km
Durban Botanic Gardens 3.1 km
uShaka Wet 'n Wild 3.1 km
Umgeni River Bird Park 3.3 km
uShaka Marine World 3.4 km
The Valley of a 1000 Hills 27.0 km
Nearby landmarks
Marine Parade Beach 110 m
Carpendale Park 270 m
Durban Beach 280 m
Snake Park 410 m
Mini Town 410 m
Bay of Plenty Beach 490 m
Sun Coast Casino 500 m
Durban Ice Rink 510 m
Durban Ice Arena 520 m
Olive Convention Centre 560 m

Blue Waters Hotel

175 Snell Parade, Marine Parade, North Beach, Durban, South Africa, 4056 - See map

Get your trip off to a great start with a stay at this property, which offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Strategically situated in North Beach, allowing you access and proximity to local attractions and sights. Be sure to set some time aside to visit uShaka Marine World as well as Golden Mile nearby. Rated with 4 stars, this high-quality property provides guests with access to restaurant, indoor pool and outdoor pool on-site.

Show more

Highlights

Inside city center

Check-in [24-hour]

Excellent breakfast

Excellent view

420 meters to Mini Town

Wellness
Everything you need for a rejuvenating retreat for both body and spirit.
Spa & Beauty
Sauna
Workout and Leisure
Swimming pool [indoor]
Swimming pool [outdoor]

Facilities

Front desk [24-hour]

Car park

Complimentary WIFi in all rooms

Luggage storage

Swimming pool [indoor]

Golf course [on-site]

Bicycles

Breakfast [free]

This property is in high demand!

4 travelers have booked today.

Value for money8.2
Distance to city center2.0 Km
Location rating9.1
Nearest airportKing Shaka International Airport (DUR)
Distance to airport26.8 km

Rooms available at Blue Waters Hotel

Very good
Room comfort & quality

7.7

Deluxe Executive Family Suite - Sea Facing
...
  • Room size: 68 m²/732 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 2 single beds and 1 king be...
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Quadruple Room - Sea Facing
...
  • Room size: 36 m²/388 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 2 single beds and 1 king be...
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe King Room - Sea Facing
...
  • Room size: 34 m²/366 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Quadruple Room - North Sea Facing
...
  • Room size: 36 m²/388 ft²
  • Partial sea view
  • 2 single beds and 1 king be...
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe King Room - North Sea Facing
...
  • Room size: 34 m²/366 ft²
  • Partial ocean view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Family Room - North Sea Facing
...
  • Room size: 53 m²/570 ft²
  • Partial ocean view
  • 1 king bed and 2 single bed...
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Twin Room - Sea Facing
...
  • Room size: 34 m²/366 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe King Room - South Facing
...
  • Room size: 34 m²/366 ft²
  • Partial sea view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Family Room – Disability Access
...
  • Room size: 53 m²/570 ft²
  • Partial ocean view
  • 2 single beds and 1 king be...
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Family Room - Disability Access - North Sea Facing
...
  • Room size: 53 m²/570 ft²
  • Sea view
  • 1 king bed and 2 single bed...
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in and check-out at Blue Waters Hotel?

Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hotel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.

How do I get to Blue Waters Hotel?

For those who wish to drive their own cars, Blue Waters Hotel has a car park on site, as well as additional parking nearby if the first car park is full. Parking is available for a fee of 95 ZAR per day.

Is breakfast offered at Blue Waters Hotel?

Start your mornings right, with the continental and buffet breakfast options offered at Blue Waters Hotel. There's an additional charge of 190 zar for adults and 75 ZAR for children if not included in the room rate. You may save on breakfast costs with Agoda by booking a room with breakfast, which is often included for less than buying it at the hotel.

What are my dining options at Blue Waters Hotel?

Blue Waters Hotel features an on-site restaurant for your dining convenience. Meals served include breakfast, dinner and lunch. Dishes are served in a la carte and buffet during opening hours. Light meal like soup, coffee or tea, desserts and salad are served using only quality ingredients. To meet any special dietary requirements, vegetarian diet is prepared with the utmost care and attention.

Can special events be hosted at Blue Waters Hotel?

You may choose an indoor venue for your special gathering. Large events and gatherings such as weddings, private events and engagements can be hosted at Blue Waters Hotel. Small or intimate events like birthday parties can also be accomodated. Services for in-house catering, wireless internet, in-house planning and event decoration are offered to help your event go smoothly. End your big event day with special turn-down services to celebrate your special occasion. Services including room decorations, food and beverage and flower petals are available upon request.

Can business events be hosted at Blue Waters Hotel?

On-site venues and convenient event services make Blue Waters Hotel an ideal choice for hosting events such as seminars, corporate events, conferences and meetings. All available venues come in different styles and sizes and can accommodate up to 150 people. An extensive range of facilities and services including projector or LED display, free Wi-Fi and audio-visual equipment is available to help your business meeting or event a successful one.

What is the smoking policy at Blue Waters Hotel?

Blue Waters Hotel does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

What is the closest train, metro, or bus station to Blue Waters Hotel?

The closest train, metro, or bus station to Blue Waters Hotel is Durban Railway Station, 1.3 km away.

What restaurants are nearby Blue Waters Hotel?

Restaurants including Pesto Restaurant At The Palace Resort, Blue Dolphin and California Dreaming are popular in Blue Waters Hotel’s neighborhood which is known as North Beach.

What popular shopping places are close to Blue Waters Hotel?

Shopping options in Blue Waters Hotel’s North Beach neighborhood include artSPACE durban.

What are popular attractions near Blue Waters Hotel?

Guests at Blue Waters Hotel can easily visit Big Rush Urban Adrenaline, Mini Town and Carpendale Park located in the North Beach area.

What popular beaches are close to Blue Waters Hotel?

Guests at Blue Waters Hotel can easily visit Bay of Plenty Beach and Durban Beach in the North Beach area.

Show more questions
See map

Explore the neighborhood

What people love about Blue Waters Hotel

  • 10

    Exceptional
    Staff 

    "What a beautiful hotel, our room was overlooking the beach , the staff was friendly and the room service food was delicious we would definitely book again."

    Keitumetse

    |

    June 18, 2022

  • 8.8

    Excellent

    "I loved the food wide range of food on your breakfast."

    Louise

    |

    June 3, 2022

  • 10

    Exceptional
    Cleanliness

    "Nice and clean."

    Kanan

    |

    May 18, 2022

Property ranking|Compared to 1,134 Durban properties
See all rankings
Location score
9.1/10
Room comfort score
7.8/10
Room size
42 sqm.
Value for money score
8.2/10
Better than
98
%
of Durban properties
Better than
97
%
of Durban properties
Bigger than
96
%
of Durban properties
Better than
95
%
of Durban properties
Overall rating:

8.3

Excellent
14,326 reviews
Cleanliness
8.1
Facilities
7.8
Location
9.1
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
The hotel has a great sea view, great staffs and great food
Bongani from South Africa
Couple
More about Blue Waters Hotel

More about Blue Waters Hotel

Blue Waters Hotel

Blue Waters Hotel is the perfect choice for travelers who want to take in the sights and sounds of Durban. Experience an urban escape in Durban with a stay at Blue Waters Hotel, with its exceptional location right in the city center. Just 3.3 km from uShaka Marine World, Blue Waters Hotel provides an easy access to nature, a great escape from everyday life.
All offerings provided by Blue Waters Hotel help to ensure a pleasant stay for all travelers. Free internet access provided within the hotel keeps you connected throughout your stay. For those driving their own car, parking is available for guests. Always get the assistance you need with front desk services including concierge service, luggage storage and safety deposit boxes.
Booking the best tickets and getting the hottest restaurant reservations are made easy with help from the hotel's ticket service and tours. For longer stays or whenever you need it, the dry cleaning service and laundry service keep your favorite travel outfits clean and available. Feel like doing nothing? Available services like room service and daily housekeeping let you get the most out of your time at the Blue Waters Hotel. For health reasons, smoking is not permitted anywhere inside the hotel.
For guests who would like to smoke, the designated smoking areas are available.
A range of amenities is offered in guestrooms at Blue Waters Hotel. Enjoy your stay even more at the hotel, knowing that some selected rooms include air conditioning. Some rooms at Blue Waters Hotel are available with design features like a balcony or terrace. For a bit of entertainment, guests will find cable TV available in some selected rooms.
Don't worry about being thirsty as a refrigerator and a coffee or tea maker are provided in some guestrooms. Bathroom amenities are just as important as others, and at the hotel you'll find a hair dryer and toiletries available in some guest bathrooms.


Dining and things to do

Every day at Blue Waters Hotel begins with a delicious complimentary breakfast. Don't start your vacation days without your morning coffee, available every morning in the café. A number of great dining options at the hotel assures that you'll always have convenient and delicious choices. A great night out couldn't be easier! Enjoy a fun evening without traveling outside at the bar and casino.
A day in will be as fun as a day out with ranges of recreational activities offered at Blue Waters Hotel. A beach that's accessible right from the hotel puts you close to the ocean during your stay. A relaxing end to every day is possible with a visit to the sauna, located right in the hotel. Don't forget to make a visit or two to the hotel's pool.
Beat the hot weather with cooling water activities like fishing and snorkeling. Challenge your travel group members or other guests to competitive fun, with the hotel's squash court.


Around the property

Don't spend all your time inside while in Durban! Cheer on the local team at Moses Mabhida Stadium located 1.5 km away, or just buy some authentic gear and memorabilia to show your support. Chill out in the beach or just watch the waves on warm days at Golden Mile located 1.1 km away.


Reasons to stay here

Compared to the city's accommodation options, this hotel scored higher than 98% of them for food and dining.
Guests who stayed at this hotel have scored it higher than 97% of accommodations in the city.
According to guests who stayed here, this hotel's room comfort is rated higher than 96% of other accommodations in Durban.

Show more
Amenities and facilities
Very good
Facilities

7.8

Most talked about facilities

Breakfast

192 mentions

Housekeeping

54 mentions

Food & Dining

40 mentions

Beach

39 mentions

Languages spoken

  • English

Outdoor

  • Bicycles

Accessibility

  • Wheelchair accessible

Internet access

  • Complimentary WIFi in all rooms
  • Internet services
  • Wi-Fi in public areas

Things to do, ways to relax

  • Casino
  • Fishing
  • Garden
  • Golf course [on-site]
  • Nightclub
  • On-site entertainment
  • Pool with view
  • Sauna
  • Snorkeling
  • Squash court
  • Swimming pool [indoor]
  • Swimming pool [outdoor]
  • Ticket services
  • Tours

Cleanliness and safety

  • Anti-viral cleaning products
  • Breakfast in room
  • Cashless payment service
  • Daily disinfection in all rooms
  • Face coverings on staff
  • First aid kit
  • Guest rooms seal after sanitization
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Hot water linen and laundry washing
  • Physical distancing of at least 1 meter
  • Protective screens in common areas
  • Room sanitization opt-out available
  • Rooms sanitized between stays
  • Safe dining setup
  • Sanitized kitchen and tableware items
  • Shared stationery removed
  • Staff trained in safety protocol
  • Temperature check for guests and staff

Dining, drinking, and snacking

  • Alternative meal arrangement
  • Bar
  • Breakfast [free]
  • Coffee shop
  • Happy hour
  • Restaurants
  • Room service

Services and conveniences

  • Air conditioning in public area
  • Concierge
  • Currency conversion service
  • Daily cleaning
  • Disabled facilities
  • Dry cleaning
  • Elevator
  • Food delivery
  • Grooming service
  • Invoice provided
  • Ironing service
  • Laundry service
  • Luggage storage
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Safety deposit boxes
  • Smoke-free property
  • Smoking area
  • Terrace

For the kids

  • Babysitting service
  • Family room
  • Kids meal
  • Playground

Land sports

  • Golf course (within 3 km)

Access

  • CCTV in common areas
  • CCTV outside property
  • Check-in [24-hour]
  • Fire extinguisher
  • Front desk [24-hour]
  • Non-smoking rooms
  • Pets allowed
  • Security [24-hour]
  • Smoke alarms

Getting around

  • Car park [nearby]
  • Car park [on-site]
  • Parking [paid]

Available in all rooms

  • A/C
  • Coffee/tea machine
  • Complimentary drinking water
  • Desk
  • Hair dryer
  • Lock box in room
  • Non-smoking
  • Phone
  • Private bathroom
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite/cable channels
  • Seating area
  • Shower
  • Toiletries
  • Wi-Fi
  • Wi-Fi [complimentary]
Food and dining
Restaurants on site

Versailles

  • Cuisine: International
  • Menu: Buffet, A-la-carte
Location
175 Snell Parade, Marine Parade, North Beach, Durban, South Africa, 4056
Exceptional
Location

9.1

Airports

  • King Shaka International Airport (DUR)
    26.8 km
  • Pietermaritzburg Airport (PZB)
    65.5 km

Public transportation

  • Durban Railway Station
    1.3 km
  • Moses Mabhida
    1.6 km

Hospital or clinic

  • City Health Hospital
    2.3 km

Shopping

  • Victoria St Market
    2.7 km

Convenience store

  • Fresh Stop
    650 m

Cash withdrawal

  • ATM
    200 m
What's nearby

Popular landmarks

  • Suncoast Casino
    590 m
  • Big Rush Urban Adrenaline
    1.3 km
  • Moses Mabhida Stadium
    1.6 km
  • Mitchell Park Zoo
    3.0 km
  • Durban Botanic Gardens
    3.1 km
  • uShaka Wet 'n Wild
    3.1 km
  • Umgeni River Bird Park
    3.3 km
  • uShaka Marine World
    3.4 km
  • The Valley of a 1000 Hills
    27.0 km

Nearby landmarks

  • Marine Parade Beach
    110 m
  • Carpendale Park
    270 m
  • Durban Beach
    280 m
  • Snake Park
    410 m
  • Mini Town
    410 m
  • Bay of Plenty Beach
    490 m
  • Sun Coast Casino
    500 m
  • Durban Ice Rink
    510 m
  • Durban Ice Arena
    520 m
  • Olive Convention Centre
    560 m
Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Property policies
Children and extra beds

Extra beds vary by room. Please check each room's capacity for details.

All children are welcome.

Children 0-2 year(s)
Stay for free if using existing bedding.
If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
Guests 3 years and older are considered as adults
Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
Others
  • Guests must provide a valid form of government regulated identification (eg. passport, ID card, driver’s license, etc.) upon check-in.
  • Car parking is available at an additional charge and subject to availability.
  • Dinner cost ZAR 265 per person. Price excludes beverages and wine. Please contact the property for more information.
  • When booking 6 or more rooms, special policies may apply.
Some helpful facts

Check-in/Check-out

  • Check-in from14:00
  • Check-out until10:00

Getting around

  • Distance from city center2.0 Km
  • Travel time to airport (minutes)35

Extras

  • Breakfast charge (unless included in room price)190 zar

The property

  • Non-smoking rooms/floorsYes
  • Number of bars/lounges1
  • Number of floors18
  • Number of restaurants1
  • Number of rooms 262
  • Room voltage220
  • Year property opened1968
  • Most recent renovation2019

Parking

  • Daily parking fee95 ZAR

Reviews of Blue Waters Hotel from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
8.2
/
10
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.8
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality7.7
Service8.1
Value for money8.2
High score for Durban
Rating
9+ Exceptional (443)
8-9 Excellent (266)
7-8 Very Good (254)
6-7 Good (98)
<6 Below Expectation (204)
Time of the year
Mar - May (292)
Jun - Aug (243)
Sep - Nov (314)
Dec - Feb (416)
All guests (2,328)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1,265 verified guest comments
12345
10.0
Exceptional
Lorraine from South Africa
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Lovely hotel, smiling service & great location”

Clean, good service & breakfast, location & views

Blue Waters Hotel has been an icon on the Durban beach front for many years. It was pleasant arriving at the hotel to be welcomed with a smile & efficiently booked in. I made a belated request for a cot for my 1yr old grandson on Agoda & was pleased to see that it was already in the room when we entered. The rooms are a fair size and very clean. I think all rooms must have sea views and from our balcony we could see the Moses Mabida Soccer Stadium and the north coast 'beautiful!' Breakfast the next morning was most enjoyable - especially the omelettes made to order! A high chair was produced for the baby. I would love to be able to spend several days at the Blue Waters.

Reviewed November 30, 2012

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
J from South Africa
Business traveler
Deluxe King Room - Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Marvelous”

Superb location; great value for money; unbelievably good breakfast!

This hotel is being refurbished and so a mild degree of discomfort may be experienced BUT the hotel management staff are trying their best to minimise the impact. Anyway, one should spend one's days on the beach directly opposite the hotel, enjoying the warm Indian Ocean waters. The Blue Waters hotel is an icon in Durban, and many honeymooners will recall it with great nostalgia. It still exudes an air of a bygone era, with its massive dining area and comfortable lounge. The rooms are comfortable, but not elaborately furnished. Our room had a tiny balcony that was put to good use with a late afternoon bottle of sparkling wine (oh, dear, one is not allowed to say champagne...) being consumed. The establishment offers great value as is reflected in its popularity.

Reviewed January 16, 2015

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Annemarie from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe King Room - Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Pleasant surprise”

Efficient and friendly staff, outstanding breakfast, cleanliness

The Blue Waters Hotel must be one of the best-kept secrets about Durban. Great location, wonderful staff, great breakfasts. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly and check-in took all of 5 minutes. The room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was a feast and my husband was in love with the waffles! We will definitely return.

Reviewed August 25, 2014

See room deals

9.0
Exceptional
Kenneth from South Africa
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2009

Waters, blue in colour”

Quiet, beautiful and peaceful rooms. Great breakfast.
good cleaning is overlooked. In the luxury room, people did not bother to clean up. There were some wine stains on the table that were not cleaned at all for the duration of my stay. People should not just take advantage when they see that the guests keep the room tidy at all times, they still must dust and wipe surfaces.

The hotel is in a lovely location, and in a wonderful city, maybe it is because i have a certain bias towards Durban, but it is certainly my favourite city in South Africa. I have found the staff to be very friendly and always willing to help. Safe location next to all the restaurants and pubs (oh yes!). The room i had occupied is a very spacious, beautiful and above all quiet room. I enjoyed both my sleeping time and my waking time (wish they could provide a large bed instead of two quarter beds slumped together though), and i could sit and attend to my work in their study overlooking the beach. When i got bored i could sit around the balcony and have a bird's eye view of the lovely Durban, looking at the vast ocean stretching as far as the eye can see. What a wonderful world! For the price i paid, this is a grreat value for money, breakfast included, and this could not have been more fitting in this hard financial times we are facing. More of that please!

Reviewed September 08, 2009

See room deals

8.3
Excellent
Riedwaan from South Africa
Solo traveler
Deluxe King Room - South Facing
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Balmy Blue Waters - what a gem!”

Location, Scrumptious meals, Safe environment...

Blue Waters Hotel offers a true beach holiday stay. With the sound of the waves lingering and a swim in the Indian Ocean is literally across the road from the hotel. This hotel is renowned for it's great food and now boasting with a pizzeria linked to their bar, makes for a perfect Friday night chill out. The hotel is perfectly situated, within range of most amenities in central Durban. A nice jog down to Ushaka Marine or a quick walk to the famous Suncoast Casino is all within your reach. Recent upgrades to the hotel makes it more attractive... All in all a great weekend getaway for me...

Reviewed February 10, 2015

See room deals

9.0
Exceptional
Rajiv from Mozambique
Family with young children
Deluxe Quadruple Room - Sea Facing
Stayed 6 nights in August 2014

Excellent Holidays”

Great Location, Great Breakfast, Sea front

We had booked quadruple sea facing room for 4 of us (2 young children), room was spacious, sea front and high floor, all beautiful. Excellent breakfast, 15 mins drive to/from hotel to major attractions of Durban. Safe walking/jogging at the beach. We had to pay for the parking and pool water was too cold and is indoor, 1m deep. Other hotels do offer hot water pools. Overall its fantastic hotel, and it was awesome experience. 5 mins walk to Suncoast cinemas, casino & major restaurant chains.

Reviewed August 18, 2014

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Portia from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room - Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in November 2020

Blue waters hotel ”

This is the best hotel in Durban for me. The breakfast is top notch and it is situated near the casino and entertainment Suncoast. The view of the beach from my room was the absolute best. I rate blue waters 1000%

Reviewed December 05, 2020

See room deals

Dear Portia. Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic review with us from your most recent stay at The Blue Waters Hotel. On behalf of the entire team, we are very proud to read that our staff delivered such a memorable service throughout your stay. We look forward to your return in the near future. Yours in Hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Manager.

Responded December 08, 2020
Blue Waters Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Mathilde from Myanmar
Business traveler
Deluxe King Room - North Sea Facing
Stayed 10 nights in October 2017

Exceptional”

I spent ten days in blue waters hotel and I have to say that I had a really good time there. The location is great, the breakfast is really good with a lot of choices, and the staff is really helpful. If I have to go back to Durban, I will definitively go back there.

Reviewed November 13, 2017

See room deals

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amazing service you received. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer exceptional service and meet our guest expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in Hospitality, Lindie Lotriet, Guest Services Manager

Responded December 05, 2017
Blue Waters Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Nicolene from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe King Room - Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Simply enjoyed our stay @ blue waters 😊”

Pro's •rooms were clean and tidy •staff were friendly and helpful •sea view was perfect •breakfast was amazing Cons was very disappointed with the indoor pool facilty as we were unable to use it as there was a function booked for both our days stayed at the hotel ... I think it's very unfair that the indoor pool area can be booked and guests cannot use it ... the main reason I booked at blue waters was because of the indoor pool ... so very disappointed... I dont think that facilty should be booked out as it is very unfair on the hotel guests...

Reviewed December 03, 2018

See room deals

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the amazing service and treatment that you received during your stay with us. We have noted your points where we have not met your expectations and are looking for ways of how we can improve on this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Yours in hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Liaison.

Responded December 04, 2018
Blue Waters Hotel
9.7
Exceptional
Tamera from South Africa
Group
Deluxe King Room - North Sea Facing
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

great hotel n service”

comfortable beds, good view,safe

we enjoyed our stay at blue waters,it was completely safe for our kids,spacious rooms,lovely views n very good service. the breakfast was really good.we will definately be staying at blue waters again and will recommend to all our friends and family.we also got a very good deal through agoda and will continue booking through them. thanks

Reviewed December 05, 2012

See room deals

9.7
Exceptional
lauren from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe King Room - North Sea Facing
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

lovely convenient hotel beautiful rooms”

spacious rooms convenient location two minute walk from the beach

my stay was amazing, i loved the cleanliness of the hotel and also the convenience of it being near all the main attractions of durban. the views of the beach from the room are absolutely stunning this hotel can be used from anything to a fun time in durban with friends to a beautiful romance with your significant other. this hotel is an absolute gem.

Reviewed November 15, 2012

See room deals

9.7
Exceptional
Lee-Anne from South Africa
Family with young children
Deluxe King Room - North Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Beautiful hotel with luxury all round!!”

modern rooms, fantastic food and service!

What a beautiful, modern hotel. As a short getaway for my spouse and our 1.5year old baby girl, this was such a treat! The rooms were beautifully decorated, the staff always exceptionally friendly and helpful and the FOOD served in their breakfast / lunch buffet lounge was to die for! An absolute pleasure, at a FANTASTIC rate! Thanks Agoda, and Blue Waters for a wonderful experience... Almost sad it was such a short stay, but we'll definitely return for a longer one!!

Reviewed September 10, 2012

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
RONGHUA from China
Business traveler
Deluxe King Room - North Sea Facing
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Blue waters is a very nice place”

Blue waters is a very nice place to live, and enjoy your stay in DURBAN. People here are very nice and kind, close to the beach, close to the Casino, close to the shopping mall.

Reviewed July 01, 2016

See room deals

8.3
Excellent
gonas from South Africa
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

average”

self service breakfast, convenient to the beach

it was okay, but when it comes to cleaning of rooms not pleased as would like beddings to be changed at least every day as we are closer to the beach and in and out of room, besides when replacing towels they send them in quiet late. ladies at accomadation needs to have a smile and be hospitable, i have had an experience of asking an extended stay for two hours as i was awaitng my transport ,i was rudely said till 11 as though she was doin me a great favour. i would rank bellair suite a top stay hotel anytime then best service and staff i cant tell that for blue waters ,not to impressed but had no option but to take it the price was worth it

Reviewed February 27, 2014

See room deals

9.2
Exceptional
wally from South Africa
Solo traveler
Deluxe King Room - Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Nice experience ”

Room rates are a bit steep but the one I stayed in had everything what I needed. Excellent view, comfortable bed and large screen TV with exceptional DSTV options. Breakfast is quite nice and served in very cozy restaurant. Buffet dinner is a bit shy of roast meat(only one to choose from) otherwise it is presented well and worth the price. Stuff very friendly and helpful. Air conditioning in the restaurant however, is not working evenly, leaving some areas pretty warm. Lifts should also be airconed because it was extremely hot inside while coming down. It will be my first choice hotel when I come back to Durban for a visit again.

Reviewed March 07, 2017

See room deals

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you received excellent guest service from our staff members. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in Hospitality, Lindie Lotriet, Guest Services Manager Remove Edit

Responded May 07, 2017
Blue Waters Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Jason from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe King Room - Sea Facing
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

For All Seasons”

The Blue Waters Hotel have been my destination for over a decade. The warmth of the staff and the treatment is overwarming. In the decade I am talking about I have checked out other superior institutions but their hospitality and warmth cannot be compared to Blue Waters Hotel.

Reviewed February 20, 2017

See room deals

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in Hospitality, Lindie Lotriet, Guest Services Manager

Responded September 10, 2017
Blue Waters Hotel
8.4
Excellent
sylvia from South Africa
Family with young children
Deluxe Executive Family Suite - Sea Facing
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017

happy but no communication of the changing ”

I always spend my new year At blue waters hotel and I must say I was feeling happy and excited on new years eve because at Dolphin they were organising DJ's and nice music. This time I was disappointed because it was closed earlier and there was nothing that was arranged as it normally happen. more over the tickets for shaka marine we normally get them at the hotel but even this time we were not told that we wont get them anymore. cleaniless and breakfast is good I love the standard and its now big and bright. I love the supervisors at the dining hall they are so friendly and they do their work with passion. I cant wait to come again as its my home. try to communicate with us especially for changes because it is disappointing when you bring people and find that everything has changed

Reviewed January 17, 2018

See room deals

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. The Blue Dolphin Bar does close early if it is not busy, usual closing time is at 10pm. We still do sell Ushaka tickets at Blue Waters Hotel during off peak season. The time that you were staying with us was during peak season, reason as to why the tickets were unfortunately not available. We look forward to your return stay with us. Yours in Hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services.

Responded January 24, 2018
Blue Waters Hotel
7.6
Very good
Steven from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe Family Room - North Sea Facing
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017

Very good”

When I made a booking in beginning there was only a option of north coast view for family room of 4. We were only 2 people and had no choice.When we booked in we kindly asked for a full sea facing room. At the desk they went on the system and first said there is a room available but it will cost more. The lady mentioned R800 difference. I was willing to pay R800 EXTRA. Then she gave the schoking news that its R800 per night which will be total of R3200 ADDITIONAL. I then said no its not acceptable. Then she made a phone call and mentioned it can be settled for a once off payment off R800. I then accepted it. My problem is as follow..1. When I made a booking the week before there was no option of a full sea view room for only 2 people. 2. At the desk there was a room available.. 3.I was penalized by paying more for a smaller room than the room for 4 people. Normally its just the oppisite.. Im getting the impression that the Blue Waters hotel is more concerned to cater for foreign visiters and neglect our countries own citizens from inland that also need a brake but cant afford travelling overseas for the benefit. I hope its not the case because we are an white couple. Overall the service and accommondation was exceeding my expectations and it was a wonderful 4 nights stay. The environment was save and we felt secured. Kind regards SP.Grobbelaar

Reviewed October 28, 2017

See room deals

Dear Steven Your interest and concern are much appreciated. We do from time to time run specials on certain room types that are not selling as well as others. Should a specific room type be available one day but not on the next is dependent on guests confirming or perhaps cancelling their reservations. We strive towards excellent customer service for all our guests and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Blue Waters Hotel again in the near future. Yours in Hospitality, Monique Hattingh, Front Office Manager

Responded October 30, 2017
Blue Waters Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
tinus from South Africa
Solo traveler
Deluxe King Room - North Sea Facing
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Awesome”

I won't stay any other place in Durban , this is my 10th visit to the Blue Water Hotel and it is still the best place to be.

Reviewed July 05, 2016

See room deals

8.7
Excellent
Riedwaan from South Africa
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012

Great location, scenic views and lovely breakfast.”

Walking distance from the beach and most other amenities...

Always a great stay at the Blue Waters Hotel. However: it is high time they invest in an ice machine and not charge guests for ice. I was also refused by a staff member to hold onto something in their fridge for a few hours as they don't have bar fridges in the rooms and it's their policy not to hold onto things for guests in their fridges... But, a lovely hotel and I always return there...

Reviewed November 17, 2012

See room deals

12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss