Travelling to New Zealand? Read all updated requirements before you book.
Base Rotorua Hostel
Base Rotorua Hostel
Base Rotorua Hostel
Base Rotorua Hostel
Base Rotorua Hostel
Base Rotorua Hostel
Base Rotorua Hostel

Removed from saved list

7.6

Very good

96 reviews

96 reviews

Housekeeping4
Swimming Pool1
See map

8.5

Excellent

Location rating score

Excellent location
Exceptional for walking
Parking
FREE
Walkable places
St. Lukes Anglican Church

250 m

Kuirau Park

330 m

Rotorua Night Market

380 m

Eat Street

380 m

Maori Made

440 m

Popular landmarks
Tamaki Maori Village

750 m

Rotorua Museum of Art & History

1.0 km

Te Puia

3.3 km

Rainbow Springs Kiwi Wildlife Park

3.9 km

Lake Rotorua

7.0 km

Closest landmarks
P YHA Roturua

50 m

Central Health

90 m

Scion Crown Research Institute

270 m

Red Stag Timber-Waipa Saw Mill

270 m

Lakes Care Dental Centre

310 m

Base Rotorua Hostel

1286 Arawa Street, Rotorua City Center, Rotorua, New Zealand, 3010 - See map

The car parking and the Wi-Fi are always free, so you can stay in touch and come and go as you please. Conveniently situated in the Rotorua City Center part of Rotorua, this property puts you close to attractions and interesting dining options. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous Lake Rotorua. Rated with 4 stars, this high-quality property provides guests with access to restaurant, indoor pool and outdoor pool on-site.

Show more

Highlights

360 meters to Kuirau Park

Front desk [24-hour]

Complimentary WIFi in all rooms

Daily cleaning

Room service [24-hour]

Hygiene Plus
This property has self-selected and self-certified the following hygiene measures.Learn more
Safety Features
Staff trained in safety protocol
See all amenities
Preventative Equipment
Hand sanitizer
Health and Medical
First aid kit

Facilities

Bicycle rental

Car park

Complimentary WIFi in all rooms

Front desk [24-hour]

Swimming pool [outdoor]

Check-in/out [express]

BBQ facilities

Luggage storage

Value for money7.9
Location rating8.5
Nearest airportRotorua Regional Airport (ROT)
Distance to airport6.7 km

Rooms available at Base Rotorua Hostel

Deluxe Triple Room
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 single bed or 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • Park view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
8 Share En-Suite Dormitory
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Dormitory 10-Bed - Shared Room
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Park view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Double Shared
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6 Bed Room
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
  • Shower
  • 2 single beds and 2 bunk be...
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory with Private Bathroom - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • Shower
  • 3 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Double Room with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in a 8 Bed Mixed Room
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • Shower
  • 4 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

Does Base Rotorua Hostel have a hot tub?

Base Rotorua Hostel does not have a hot tub.

What time is check-in and check-out at Base Rotorua Hostel?

Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.

How do I get to Base Rotorua Hostel?

For those who wish to drive their own cars, Base Rotorua Hostel has a car park on site, as well as additional parking nearby if the first car park is full. Parking is free for guests. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Rotorua with private transportation, the hostel can arrange both taxis or car rental.

Is breakfast offered at Base Rotorua Hostel?

Wake up to a great continental breakfast at Base Rotorua Hostel. Adults can enjoy breakfast offered with an additional charge of 5 NZD if not included in the room rate. You may save on breakfast costs with Agoda by booking a room with breakfast, which is often included for less than buying it at the hostel.

What is the smoking policy at Base Rotorua Hostel?

Base Rotorua Hostel does permit smoking in some areas and is not 100% smoke-free.

What restaurants are nearby Base Rotorua Hostel?

Restaurants including Lone Star Rotorua, Zanellis Italian Restaurant and Luzons Cafe are popular in Base Rotorua Hostel’s neighborhood which is known as Rotorua City Center.

What popular shopping places are close to Base Rotorua Hostel?

Shopping options in Base Rotorua Hostel’s Rotorua City Center neighborhood include Rotorua Night Market, Maori Made and Cottage Flair.

What are popular attractions near Base Rotorua Hostel?

Guests at Base Rotorua Hostel can easily visit Tamaki Maori Village, Te Puia and Rotorua Museum of Art & History located in the Rotorua City Center area.

What popular natural sightseeing spots are close to Base Rotorua Hostel?

Base Rotorua Hostel’s nearby natural sights include Whakarewarewa Forest, Waimangu Volcanic Valley and Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park located in the same Rotorua City Center area.

Show more questions
See map

Explore the neighborhood

What people love about Base Rotorua Hostel

  • 9.2

    Exceptional

    "Serviced our purpose for the brief stay."

    Dianne

    |

    March 6, 2021

  • 9.2

    Exceptional

    "Will definitely stay again"

    Angie

    |

    January 7, 2021

  • 8

    Very good
    Location

    "Its also a 1 minute walk across the street to Kiurai Park which has the boiling mud pool and a great place to relax."

    JUDITH

    |

    January 10, 2020

Property ranking|Compared to 219 Rotorua properties
See all rankings
Location score
8.5/10
Value for money score
7.9/10
Room comfort score
5.5/10
Service score
7.9/10
Better than
81
%
of Rotorua properties
Better than
74
%
of Rotorua properties
Better than
74
%
of Rotorua properties
Better than
72
%
of Rotorua properties
Overall rating:

7.6

Very good
96 reviews
Cleanliness
6.9
Facilities
7.2
Location
8.5
Read all reviews >
More about Base Rotorua Hostel

More about Base Rotorua Hostel

Base Rotorua Hostel

Treat yourself to a relaxing stay and all that Rotorua has to offer with a stay at Base Rotorua Hostel.
The superior services and facilities offered at Base Rotorua Hostel will make for a memorable stay. Stay connected throughout your stay with free internet access provided. Your explorations of Rotorua can be assisted with taxi and car hire services available. Parking is provided free of charge for guests.
You'll have no problem planning out your days and transportation needs with front desk services including express check-in or check-out and luggage storage. The hostel's ticket service and tours can even help you book tickets and reservations for entertainment and explorations. Wear your favorite outfits again and again thanks to the laundromat offered at Base Rotorua Hostel. In-room conveniences such as 24-hour room service and daily housekeeping will make staying in a great choice.
Smoking may only take place in restricted designated areas.
Guests are guaranteed a comfortable stay while at Base Rotorua Hostel. To enhance your stay, some rooms at the hostel come with linen service and air conditioning. The specially-designed rooms at Base Rotorua Hostel offer a layout option like a balcony or terrace. You may be assured to know that a refrigerator, a coffee or tea maker, instant coffee and instant tea are available in some select rooms.
You can stay fresh and clean with a hair dryer, toiletries and towels provided in some of the guest bathrooms.


Dining and things to do

Wake up with no worries at Base Rotorua Hostel, where breakfast can be provided in house. Throughout your stay, choose from a variety of delicious dining options at the hostel. Once there, be sure to check out bar and nightclub for some in-house nighttime fun. Vending machines are on 24 hours a day, so you can grab a snack at any time of day or night.
The hostel even has in-house cooking amenities such as BBQ facilities and shared kitchen for its most selective guests.
Never let a day go wasted when you're at Base Rotorua Hostel with all the activities and facilities provided. The many offerings at Base Rotorua Hostel ensures you'll have plenty to do during your stay. No vacation is complete without a refreshing jump into the pool. No need to go anywhere after dinner -- play with friends or family at the shared lounge and TV area. You can find a perfect memento of your trip, or grab some simple travel supplies at the souvenir shops.


Around the property

Venture outside the hostel and explore Rotorua. You're sure to want to visit Tamaki Maori Village located 750 m away, among the most sought-after photographs for anyone visiting Rotorua.


Reasons to stay here

Spend less here on rooms than you would at 89% of other accommodations in the city.
Travelers who stayed here really appreciated the location, scoring it better than 81% of the city's other options.

Show more
Amenities and facilities
Very good
Facilities

7.2

Most talked about facilities

Housekeeping

3 mentions

Swimming Pool

2 mentions

Internet

2 mentions

Languages spoken

  • English

Internet access

  • Complimentary WIFi in all rooms
  • Wi-Fi in public areas

Things to do, ways to relax

  • Billiards
  • Garden
  • Nightclub
  • Swimming pool [indoor]
  • Swimming pool [outdoor]
  • Ticket services
  • Tours

Cleanliness and safety

  • Cashless payment service
  • Daily disinfection in all rooms
  • Daily disinfection in common areas
  • First aid kit
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Hot water linen and laundry washing
  • Hygiene certification
  • Physical distancing of at least 1 meter
  • Rooms sanitized between stays
  • Staff trained in safety protocol
  • Temperature check for guests and staff

Dining, drinking, and snacking

  • Bar
  • BBQ facilities
  • Happy hour
  • Kitchen
  • Restaurants
  • Room service [24-hour]
  • Shared kitchen
  • Vending machine

Services and conveniences

  • Cash withdrawal
  • Contactless check-in/out
  • Daily cleaning
  • Disabled facilities
  • Elevator
  • Gift/souvenir shop
  • Invoice provided
  • Laundromat
  • Luggage storage
  • Smoking area

For the kids

  • Family room

Access

  • Check-in/out [express]
  • Fire extinguisher
  • Front desk [24-hour]
  • Pets allowed
  • Security [24-hour]

Getting around

  • Bicycle parking
  • Car park [free of charge]
  • Car park [nearby]
  • Car park [on-site]
  • Rental car
  • Taxi service

Sports equipment rental

  • Bicycle rental

Available in all rooms

  • Complimentary drinking water
  • Heating
  • Shower
  • Wi-Fi [complimentary]
  • Wi-Fi [for a fee]
Food and dining
Breakfast options
  • Continental
Location
1286 Arawa Street, Rotorua City Center, Rotorua, New Zealand, 3010
Excellent
Location

8.5

Airports

  • Rotorua Regional Airport (ROT)
    6.7 km
  • Tauranga Airport (TRG)
    51.8 km

Hospital or clinic

  • Central Health
    90 m

Convenience store

  • Arawa Superette
    380 m

Cash withdrawal

  • ATM on-site
What's nearby

Popular landmarks

  • Kuirau Park
    330 m
  • Tamaki Maori Village
    750 m
  • Rotorua Museum of Art & History
    1.0 km
  • Te Puia
    3.3 km
  • Rainbow Springs Kiwi Wildlife Park
    3.9 km
  • Lake Rotorua
    7.0 km
  • Government Gardens
    7.3 km
  • Whakarewarewa Forest
    8.7 km
  • Waikite Valley Thermal Pools
    21.9 km
  • Wai-o-tapu Thermal Wonderland
    26.6 km

Nearby landmarks

  • P YHA Roturua
    50 m
  • Central Health
    90 m
  • St. Lukes Anglican Church
    250 m
  • Scion Crown Research Institute
    270 m
  • Red Stag Timber-Waipa Saw Mill
    270 m
  • Lakes Care Dental Centre
    310 m
  • Lakes Care Medical Centre
    330 m
  • Lakes Care Pharmacy
    330 m
  • Kuirau Dental
    330 m
  • Kuirau Park
    330 m
Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Property policies
Children and extra beds

Extra beds vary by room. Please check each room's capacity for details.

All children are welcome.

Children 0-1 year(s)
Must use an extra bed
If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
Guests 2 years and older are considered as adults
Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
Others
  • When booking 6 or more rooms, special policies may apply.
Some helpful facts

Check-in/Check-out

  • Check-in from14:00
  • Check-in until03:00
  • Check-out from03:00
  • Check-out until10:00

Extras

  • Breakfast charge (unless included in room price)5 NZD
  • Daily Internet/Wi-Fi fee4 NZD

The property

  • Number of bars/lounges1
  • Number of floors3

Parking

  • Daily parking fee0 NZD

Reviews of Base Rotorua Hostel from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
7.6
/
10
Cleanliness6.9
Facilities7.2
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality5.5
Service7.9
Value for money7.9
High score for Rotorua
Rating
9+ Exceptional (12)
8-9 Excellent (7)
7-8 Very Good (4)
6-7 Good (4)
<6 Below Expectation (18)
Time of the year
Mar - May (12)
Jun - Aug (7)
Sep - Nov (12)
Dec - Feb (14)
All guests (96)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 45 verified guest comments
123
8.7
Excellent
Chung from Hong Kong SAR, China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

Nice dorm, nice room, convenient location”

at the city centre, energetic decoration, feeling of going back to the university

the receptionist was nice. hotel was clean and tidy. Everything was organized well. there is a bar nearby where you could enjoy discount if you chose Base Rotorua. some noise at night but tolerable when you close the windows. Free parking. Wifi a bit expensive, though first 50mb is free.

Reviewed October 15, 2012

See room deals

9.2
Exceptional
Jirko from Finland
Solo traveler
Dormitory 10-Bed - Shared Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2019

A decent place to stay”

Location’s pretty neat, everything’s walkable though in Rotorua so... but nevertheless I was happy with my stay. The room was clean, and the balcony was a nice add. It’s very dependable on the people there, but can’t complain! Would go again!

Reviewed November 30, 2019

See room deals

Hi Jirko, thank you so much for your review! We are super happy you enjoyed your stay here. We do hope to see you in the future. Have an awesome week and safe travels :) -Liv

Responded December 02, 2019
Base Rotorua Hostel
10.0
Exceptional
Garrett
Solo traveler
Dormitory 10-Bed - Shared Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Best Place in Rotorua”

The best thing about this hostel is the staff. They were so nice and helpful and willing to answer any questions you had about what to do while you are in the area regardless of your budget. Most of the staff were travelers as well so they understand what you are looking for. They have parking in the back which is great if you have a rental car for NZ. The room I was staying in was mostly empty which was also nice and quiet for sleeping. Overall, would highly recommend.

Reviewed March 08, 2019

See room deals

8.0
Excellent
JUDITH from Philippines
Group
Stayed 2 nights in January 2020

Budget hostel with strategic location”

Base X Rotoroa is strategically located within a 3 minutes walk ko Rotoroa I site where the Bus stops. Walking distance to shops, restos...Theres even a thursday night market nearby. Its also a 1 minute walk across the street to Kiurai Park which has the boiling mud pool and a great place to relax. 3 storey building with a shared kitchen. The only downside is they dont have a lift so quite a struggle if with heavy luggage for couple of stairs. Overall they have friendly staff willing to assist you in your needs so its still a recommended place to stay.

Reviewed January 10, 2020

See room deals

Hi there and thank you for leaving us a review! It is great to see you enjoyed your time with us and the fact that we are so centrally located :) We wish you all the best on your continued travels and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Responded February 06, 2020
Base Rotorua Hostel
6.0
BRYAN from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Double Shared
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Average condition, needs a bit of TLC”

Not as clean and tidy as other Base hostels e.g. Wanaka. Could do with a bit of attention to detail (filthy window frames, vents, sills, marked up walls, stained and grotty bedspreads, poorly vacuumed carpets etc). But the linen was fresh, the double bed was comfortable, the room spacious (although sparse) and the shared facilities generally satisfactory. Price reasonable but I think I’d pay a few dollars more next time and stay at the tidier YHA just a few metres away.

Reviewed April 11, 2019

See room deals

8.0
Excellent
Rhayne from Malaysia
Couple
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Good location.”

Cheap Price from Agoda!

We stayed for 2 days in this Hostel. The blonde girl at the reception wasn't very friendly but the rest of the staffs are nice. Swimming pool was clean, but couldn't find the Jacuzzi mentioned. The 2nd night stay without hot water pull us down after we had night swim in the pool. Generally we were happy as Agoda was having promotion.

Reviewed December 26, 2011

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Jane from New Zealand
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in September 2019

Value for money accommodation”

We were here 10 years ago and this trip we are back here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We came with not very high expectation. The room was better than expected. We book a triple double room which is next to the pool. Towels and soap and sky tv were provided. Room was spacious with a good size pantry area in the room. Only down thing was could hear people walking upstairs and a bit of food smell at certain times.

Reviewed September 30, 2019

See room deals

Hi Jane! We are so honored that you came back here for your 10th wedding anniversary! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you back here in another 10 years time ;) -Liv

Responded October 11, 2019
Base Rotorua Hostel
6.8
Good
Chu from New Zealand
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2019

Not clean ”

Last month I've rang to upgrade my room to accombodate 5 peoples and a staff by the name of Beth told me that i need to top up $20 different. But today i was overcharged by $30 and base staff couldn't take ownership to resolve the issue. Pretty disappointed Wont recommend or come back again.

Reviewed December 26, 2019

See room deals

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do not have a staff member called Beth working for us we are afraid, or have in the past so we can only assume there may have been a slight miscommunication somewhere, please feel free to email us direct to explain the issue a little further so we are able to look into this for you. We do hope you enjoy the rest of our beautiful country. Safe travels.

Responded February 06, 2020
Base Rotorua Hostel
9.2
Exceptional
Angie from New Zealand
Family with young children
Budget Family Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2021

Family room ensuite”

Nice room for family. But it gets hot and can't leave door open at night as them unwanted bugs comes in. Water spill on floor as having a shower, used sheet next morning to wipe up spill as no towels. Will definitely stay again

Reviewed January 07, 2021

See room deals

8.8
Excellent
Giran from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Good Hostel :)”

Kitchen is a bit in a mess. But room is clean and WARM, and staffs are friendly :) It's good backpacker.

Reviewed August 01, 2016

See room deals

9.0
Exceptional
lauren from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Amazing”

Friendly staff amazing hot swimming pool and the ensuite double was like stepping into the 60's oh and the boucey bed

Short and sweet!!! Loved a dip in the pool and sun bathing right outside the room

Reviewed November 28, 2014

See room deals

9.2
Exceptional
Jiratnira from Thailand
Couple
Double Shared
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Super warm”

Room was warm also the location so close with everything, staff all ok

Reviewed April 22, 2019

See room deals

6.0
Jens from Belgium
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2020

Good typical hostel”

All you can expect from a hostel: good vibe, big kitchen, bar next door and even swimming pool. The on-site parking was a good extra. Room was clean.

Reviewed January 20, 2020

See room deals

Hi there and thank you for leaving us a review. It is great to see you enjoyed your time here, how great is our swimming pool, especially during this beautiful weather we are having :) We wish you all the best on your continued travels throughout New Zealand!

Responded February 06, 2020
Base Rotorua Hostel
8.3
Excellent
stan from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011

good location”

great hot pool

gt location,room with a view over the park.had a very enjoyable stay,the open air hot pool was fantastic .

Reviewed August 17, 2011

See room deals

5.0
Teow from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2011

convenient”

near to the park

the hotel is not nice at all, though the price is cheap. it is quite convenient.

Reviewed April 27, 2011

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Mee from Malaysia
Group
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2019

Exceptional”

No complaints

Reviewed October 10, 2019

See room deals

Hi Mee! Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your stay here. :) -Liv

Responded October 11, 2019
Base Rotorua Hostel
9.6
Exceptional
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Shared
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Exceptional”

great staff helped us organise all our trips and sort any problems we had thank you

Reviewed August 21, 2018

See room deals

Kia ora Paul. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It sounds as though you enjoyed your stay here at Base Rotorua. The reception staff love being able to help with any queries/ problems that our guest may have and we're happy to hear that we did just that for you. All the best for future travels.

Responded August 27, 2018
Base Rotorua Hostel
6.4
Good
Chiu from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Double Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2020

Good”

Room was clean and staffs are very helpful. However, the room was extremely hot with 2 windows that cannot be opened widely. No fan, no air conditioning. If you open the windows for air circulation at night, inserts will fly into the room...

Reviewed December 19, 2020

See room deals

4.4
jaeung from South Korea
Couple
Double Shared
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

it was the worst in Newzealand”

i am not familiar with English but the check-in reception staff speek more slowly. The other hotel receptions i booked tried to make me understand. and too high floor and no lift, many spider webs, too small bathbooth(i'm 180cm, 80kg) expensive laundry(cleaning $4, dry $4) loud outside.....

Reviewed December 15, 2018

See room deals

2.4
Ross from New Zealand
Group
Double Shared
Stayed 2 nights in August 2019

False advertising”

The photos in the gallery were misleading! Thought I was getting a little studio like in the photos. But it was just a room, with no toilet, kitchen, tv, nothing!! I will never stay here!!

Reviewed August 26, 2019

See room deals

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take on board all feedback, whether positive or negative, as we are always looking at ways to improving our business. Sorry that you thought the pictures were misleading, you were completely correct in this instance and thank you for pointing this out to us! As soon as you did, the room photos were updated straight away to make sure that people were not continuing to be mislead. The description to the room however states clearly that it is a Double Room with Shared Facilities, meaning the bathroom and kitchen are not in the room, but down the corridor. There is most definitely a TV in the room you checked into, sorry you missed this. As you know, the staff tried their hardest to accommodate you the best they could in this situation, even upgrading you free of charge for your last night to the room you thought you had booked. Sorry that this did not help brighten up your weekend as you decided to stay elsewhere. Safe travels.

Show more
Base Rotorua Hostel
123
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss